New Zealand Team off to World Champs

New Zealand Team off to World Champs

The Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools Debating Team leaves on Friday for the 2010 World Schools’ Debating Champs in Doha, Qatar.

New Zealand is the reigning World Schools Debating Champions after winning the title in Athens, Greece, last February.

The team consists of Maria English (Captain, Samuel Marsden Collegiate School), Nick Cross (Scots College), Aria Newfield (St Cuthbert’s College), Josh Baxter (Auckland Grammar School) and Jasmin Moran (Chilton St James School).

The team is coached by Clodagh O’Connor-McKenna and will be accompanied by adjudicators Kevin Moar, Christopher Bishop, Claire Ryan, and Rosemary Dixon.

The draw for the tournament was released yesterday:

Round 1 (prepared): “That we should support military intervention in Somalia”
New Zealand v Slovakia

Round 2 (impromptu)
Estonia v New Zealand

Round 3 (prepared): “That every country should have the right to possess nuclear weapons”
New Zealand v Romania

Round 4 (impromptu)
United States v New Zealand

Round 5 (prepared): “That doctors should report evidence of marital abuse to the police”
United Arab Emirates v New Zealand

Round 6 (impromptu)
New Zealand v Israel

Round 7 (prepared): “That terrorist suspects should have a right to a trial in civilian courts”
Nigeria v New Zealand

Round 8 (impromptu)
New Zealand v Australia

Results of each debate will be posted here during the tournament. The first round is on Tuesday February 9.  Wednesday February 10.