Congrats to NZSDC alumni

Congrats to NZSDC alumni

Huge congratulations to the New Zealand Schools debating alumni who won the Australasian Intervarsity Debating Championships in Korea last night.

The Victoria University of Wellington 1 team took out the title after defeating the National University of Singapore in a 7-2 split decision. It is Victoria’s second successive Australs victory.

The winning team comprised Seb Templeton (Wellington coach 10/11), Richard D’Ath (Nationals and NZ Team 06) and Udayan Mukherjee (Nationals 07).

Seb Templeton was the 3rd equal best speaker, with Richard and Udayan not far behind.

Also congratulations to the Auckland University 1 team who reached the quarter-finals: Stephanie Thompson (Nationals 07), Josh Baxter (Nationals and NZ Team 09) and Aria Newfield (Nationals and NZ Team 09).

Lots of other NZSDC alumni reached the octo-finals:

  • Holly Jenkins (NZ Team 08) and Paul Smith (NZ Team 07) for Victoria Two
  • Nupur Upadhyay (Nationals 08) and Jess Storey (Nationals 10) for Auckland Two
  • Kieran Bunn (Nationals and NZ Team 10) and Kurt Purdon (Nationals 07, 08, 09) for Otago One.