NZ off to World Champs

NZ off to World Champs

The Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools’ Debating Team has left New Zealand for the 2012 World Schools’ Debating Champs in Cape Town, South Africa.

The team comprises Nick Orr (Captain), Thomas Simpson, Rayhan Langdana, Edward Foley and James Penn.

They are coached by Udayan Mukherjee and Clodagh O’Connor-McKenna.

NZSDC President and Vice-President Christopher Bishop and Desley Horton are also attending the tournament as adjudicators.

The draw for the team is below. Results will be posted on here as soon as they are to hand. You can also follow the NZSDC twitter account for up to date news: @nzsdc

Round One: Thursday 19 January
Negating against Botswana (impromptu motion)

Round Two: Thursday 19 January
Affirming against Israel
Motion: This house believes that newly democratised Arab nations should not allow religious parties to participate in elections

Round Three: Friday 20 January
Affirming against Slovenia (Impromptu motion)

Round Four: Friday 20 January
Negating against Thailand
Motion: This house believes that developing nations should place limits on internal rural-urban migration

Round Five: Sunday 22 January
Negating against Wales (impromptu motion)

Round Six: Sunday 22 January
Affirming against Sweden
Motion: This house believes that the feminist movement should seek a ban on pornography

Round Seven: Monday 23 January
Affirming against Swaziland (impromptu motion)

Round Eight: Monday 23 January
Negating against Greece
Motion: This house believes that states should enshrine legally actionable socio-economic rights

The octo-finals are on Tuesday 24 January, the quarter and semi-finals on Wednesday 25 January and the Grand Final is on Thursday 26 January.