Hawkes Bay Regionals 2016 – Karamu High School Wins

Hawkes Bay Regionals 2016 – Karamu High School Wins

The Hawke’s Bay Regional Debating Championship was help over the 5th and 6th of March. This year a record 22 teams entered from across HB and the quality of teams was exceptional.

The four teams that broke to the semi-final were Campion on four wins, Karamu High School A and B on 3 wins and Napier Boys’ High School A on 3 wins as well. After two high quality semis both Karamu teams advanced to the final.

It was a hotly contested final between both teams, which in the end was won by Karamu High School A in tight decision.

Over the weekend the Hawke’s Bay squad was selected as well. This included 5 members and will be narrowed down to 3 at a later date.  The members are Mikel O’Connell (Karamu), Caitlyn Clark (Karamu), Liam Silverwood (Napier Boys’), Brianna Otto (Napier Girls’) and Myles Ashworth (Campion).

All the adjudicators were impressed by the high quality of the tournament. Hawke’s Bay is a region that has some serious debating potential and the enthusiasm of the students is key to this.

Winners: Karamu High School A
Georgia Boyes
Catitlyn Clarke
Mikel O’Connell


Runner Up: Karamu High School B
Romy Crawford
Kate Jones
Abigail Hussey

Promising Speakers
Oliver Chamberlain (Karamu)
Holly Davison (Karamu)

Highly Commended
Georgia Drummond (Napier Girls’ High School)
Rose Coffey (Napier Girls’ High School)

Hawke’s Bay Squad
Mikel O’Connell (Karamu High School)
Caitlyn Clark (Karamu High School)
Liam Silverwood (Napier Boys’ High School)
Brianna Otto (Napier Girls’ High School)
Myles Ashworth (Campion)


Best Speaker
Caitlyn Clark (Karamu High School)