2017 Auckland Report and Results

2017 Auckland Report and Results

Congratulations to Westlake Boys’ High School for winning Auckland Regionals and Lynfield College as the Runners Up in 2017. 

The tournament was the largest it has been in the past decade which was a testament to the enthusiasm and strength of schools’ debating in the Auckland Region. 

We were delighted to have Jacinda Ardern, deputy leader of the New Zealand Labour Party and MP for Mt Albert, open the Russell McVeagh Auckland Regional Schools’ Debating Championships over the weekend at Diocesan School for Girls. As an NZSDC alumni, Jacinda spoke to over 150 students, parents and teachers about her experience as a member of the Russell McVeagh Waikato Schools’ Debating Team and also giving back to the community as the Waikato convener and later the coach of the Waikato team. She also spoke about the importance of debate and free speech in a functioning democracy.  

It was terrific to also have David Seymour, Leader of the Act Party and MP for Epsom, attend the Grand Final for Russell McVeagh Auckland Regional Schools’ Debating Championships at Diocesan School for Girls. For the Grand Final, Westlake Boys’ High School (Logan Rainey, William Price, Sam Baker) successfully affirmed “this House would legalise euthanasia” against Lynfield College (Jia Dua, Karan Kalsi, Kitty Sun). The students in the Grand Final spoke eloquently and passionately about the arguments for and against this important topic in New Zealand. It was great for all those who attended the Final to hear David speak about his End-of-Life-Choice private members bill and why he personally supported euthanasia in New Zealand. Eventually Westlake Boys were declared the winners for Auckland Regionals in a 2-1 split decision. 

Congratulations to the following prize winners at the tournament: 

Winners: Westlake Boys’ High School
Logan Rainey
William Price
Sam Baker 

Runner Ups: Lynfield College
Jia Dua
Kitty Sun
Karan Kalsi 

Highly Commended Awards:
Jia Dua (Lynfield College)
Tate McGregor (St Kents College)
Jordan R-j (St Kents College)
Will Miller (Sacred Heart College) 

Reserves to the Auckland Regional Teams: 
William Price (Westlake Boys’ High School)
David Zhu (Auckland Grammar School)
Josh Looker (St Kents College) 

Auckland Blue:
Louis Addock (Sacred Heart College)
Keir Robinson (Selwyn College)
Sam Baker (Westlake Boys’ High School)
Coaches: Glen Holm-Hansen and Kayla Grant 

Auckland White:
Geneva Roy (Kings College)
Karan Kalsi (Lynfield College)
Piper Whitehead (Diocesan School for Girls)
Coaches: Lucy Harrison and Hamish Saunders 

Best Style:
Geneva Roy (Kings College) 

Best Speaker:
Geneva Roy (Kings College) 

A huge thank you to all the teachers, parents and students that came along for a weekend. Finally thank you to Liam Rawlings and Lucy Harrison for convening the tournament and Diocesan School for Girls who hosted the tournament.