Hawke’s Bay Regional Championships 2018

Hawke’s Bay Regional Championships 2018

Hawke’s Bay Regionals this year occurred over the 10/11th of March in Hastings. The tournament broke records again as a whopping 28 teams took part from across the Bay. The tournament was highly competitive and in the end two teams from Napier Girls’, and two from Karamu High School advanced to the semis. The final resulted in two Napier Girls’ teams going head to head with NGHS 1 taking out the competition.

The adjudicators were hugely impressed not only with the quality of debating in the Bay but also the massive amounts of enthusiasm all teams showed. Overall the weekend was a giant success, this was largely due to the amazing work by the host school Hastings Girls’ High School.

Winners – Napier Girls High School 1
Carolyne Nel
Frankie Gross
Lilly Trow

Runners up – Napier Girls High School 2
Natalie Bennett
Bella Spier
Hannah Rawnsley

Promising Speakers:
Grace Windhager (Iona College)
Sophie Jones (Karamu High School)
Abigail Killkolly (Karamu High School)

Most Promising Speaker:
Jessica Shoemark (Karamu High School)

Best Junior Speaker:
Emilie Horsfall (Havelock North High School)

Highly Commended Speakers:
Drew Olsen (Havelock North High School)
Lily Trow (Napier Girls’ High School)
Oscar Treadwell (Havelock North High School)

Reserves to the Hawke’s Bay Regional Team:
Jessica Shoemark (Karamu High School)
Isha Kaur (Hastings Girls High School)

Members of the Hawke’s Bay Regional Team:
Frankie Gross (Napier Girls High School)
Adam Donaldson (Gisborne Boys’ High School)
Hannah Rawnsley (Napier Girls High School)

Best Style:
Grace Windhager (Iona College)

Best Speaker:
Frankie Gross (Napier Girls High School)