2010 Championships

2010 Championships 2011-02-27T20:03:46+00:00

Greymouth High School win Nelson / Marlborough Regionals 2010

The 2010 Nelson / Marlborough Russell McVeagh Regional Schools’ Debating Championships were held on Saturday 27 March at Nayland College in Nelson. Thirteen teams from six schools competed over the day in senior and junior divisions.

Topics debated included:

  • This House would mine our national parks (prepared)
  • This House would raise the drinking age
  • That New Zealand should become a republic

In the competitive senior division, after four rounds Greymouth High School 2 had four wins, and Greymouth 1 and Nelson College 1 had three wins each. In the preliminary rounds, Greymouth 1 beat Nelson College, so Greymouth 1 and 2 progressed through to the Grand Final.

The moot for the final was “This House would reserve university for the best and the brightest”. Greymouth 1 won the debate in a 3-0 decision, winning the Jeremy Johnson Cup. The students in the winning Greymouth team were: Alex Schuddeboom, Jack Gifford, and Chris Blyth.

Winning team from Greymouth High School

Highlights of the day included the enthusiasm shown by teams in the junior division to learn during their coaching sessions, especially by Rai Valley Area School who attended the competition for the very first time, and the talent shown by a large number of young competitors – only three students from 13 teams were in year 13.

The following prizes were awarded:

Sounds Air Cup for best junior team: Nelson College

Jeremy Johnson Cup for best senior team: Greymouth High School 1

Promising Junior speaker: Dana (Nayland College)

Most Promising Junior Speaker: Hugo Lawrence (Nelson College)

Best Senior Speaker: Chris Blyth (Greymouth High School)

Reserves to the 2010 Sounds Air Nelson / Marlborough Regional Schools’ Team:
Kimberley Savill (Nayland College)
Poppy Buckley (Marlborough Girls’ College)

2010 Sounds Air Nelson / Marlborough Regional Schools’ Debating Team
Chris Blyth (Greymouth High School)
Boyd Becker (Greymouth High School)
Molly Hardy (Nayland College)
Hamish Mellor (Nelson College)

Nelson Regional Schools Debating Team and Reserves


The 2010 Nelson / Marlborough Regional Schools’ Debating Team is sponsored by Sounds Air. We thank them for their generosity.