2011 Championships

2011 Championships 2012-05-07T00:40:37+00:00

Nayland College win first title since 2008 at Kahurangi / Marlborough

The 2011 Russell McVeagh Kahurangi-Marlborough Regional Schools’ Debating Championships were held on Sunday 27 February at Nelson College for Girls. In the biggest ever turn out for the region seventeen teams from seven schools from the West Coast, Nelson and Marlborough region competed over the day in senior and junior divisions.

Topics for the seniors included restricting foreign investment in NZ companies, that we should allow commercial whaling and the merits of compulsory voting.

Meanwhile the junior students debated paying teachers based on their performance, banning pokie machines and whether school canteens should sell unhealthy food.

After four rounds Nelson College emerged victorious in the junior competition. The team of Hugo Lawrence, Henry Neas and Dean Franklet took out the Sounds Air Cup for Best Junior Team for the second year in a row. Hugo Lawrence also won the Best Junior Speaker Award.

Nelson College – winners of the Sounds Air Cup for Best Junior Team

In the competitive senior division, after four rounds Nayland College 1 had four wins, while Greymouth High School 1, Nelson College 1 and Garin College each had three wins. After taking into account the draw strength of each team it came down to speaking points with Greymouth High School 1 progressing through to the Grand Final with the highest speaker points.

Debating the topic “that all states have a right to nuclear weapons” Nayland College beat defending champions Greymouth in the Grand Final in a 5-0 decision, winning the Jeremy Johnson Memorial Cup. The students in the winning Nayland team were: Kimberly Savill, Molly Hardy and Patrick Savill.

Kimberley Savill and Patrick Savill of Nayland College, winners of the Jeremy Johnson Memorial Cup

The following prizes were awarded:

Sounds Air Cup for Best Junior Team: Nelson College

Jeremy Johnson Memorial Cup for Best Senior Team: Nayland College

Best Junior Speaker: Hugo Lawrence (Nelson College)

Austen Trophy for Best Speaker: Kimberley Savill (Nayland College)

The 2011 Sounds Air Kahurangi-Marlborough Regional Schools’ Debating Squad

Kimberley Savill (Nayland College)
Boyd Becker (Greymouth High School)
Lizzy Reich-Simko (Nelson College for Girls)
Joel McManus (Garin College)
Hamish Mellor (Nelson College)
Poppy Buckley (Marlborough Girls’ College)

The 2011 Sounds Air Kahurangi-Marlborough Regional Schools’ Debating Squad


The 2011 Kahurangi-Marlborough Regional Schools’ Debating Team is sponsored by Sounds Air. We thank them for their ongoing generosity.

Thanks to all of the adjudicators who travelled to Nelson to judge the debates and to Nelson College for Girls for hosting the competition.