2005 Championship

2005 Championship 2006-10-24T20:42:02+00:00

On the weekend of 14-15 May, 2005, Rangitoto College hosted the Russell McVeagh Auckland Regional Schools’ Debating Championships.  The competition was well attended with 22 teams competing, representing 19 schools from as far a field as Rodney.

On Saturday the teams took part in three limited preparation rounds, debating such diverse issues as the legalisation of marijuana, denying organ transplants to those who led unhealthy lifestyles and whether governments should limit individual rights to protect national security.

Sunday saw eight schools return for the quarter finals.  These were quickly whittled down to four and then two for the Grand Final, which saw Long Bay College matched against King’s College on the motion: ‘This House believes that voting should be compulsory in New Zealand general elections.’ After a closely fought debate the judges unanimously named King’s the winners.

At the end of a very competitive competition, which saw a high standard of individual achievement the following speakers were named to represent Auckland at Nationals later in the year:

Ananth Gopal (Kristin School)
Dipra Ray (Mt Roskill Grammar School)
Lucy George (Diocesan School for Girls)
Mitchell Cooper (Kristin School)
Nathanael Gray (Macleans College)
Samuel Coldicutt (Kristin School)

The following students were named as reserves:
Alex Nelder (Rodney College)
Lucas Cooney (St Kentigern’s College)

Finally, the following speakers were awarded Highly Commended awards:
Aajuli Shukla (Epsom Girls Grammar School)
Jack Oliver-Hood (King’s College)
Rupert Abraham (King’s College)