Previous Winners

Previous Winners 2020-08-20T04:01:19+00:00

The Auckland Regional Schools’ Debating Championships have existed since 1988.  From 1988 – 1998 Auckland Regional teams were selected at the Championships but there was no winning school.  Since 1998, however, the Championships have been run as a inter-school competition and the winning team has received the Claire Ryan Cup, which is inscribed as follows:

The Claire Ryan Cup for Auckland Schools’ Debating
Named in honour of Claire M. Ryan
Past President, Auckland Debating Association
Past Coach, Auckland Schools’ Debating Team
Former NZ Prepared and Impromptu Debating Champion

1998: Auckland Grammar School
1999: Auckland Grammar School
2000: St Kentigern College
2001: Auckland Grammar School
2002: King’s College
2003: St Kentigern College
2004: Mt Roskill Grammar School
2005: King’s College
2006: Rangitoto College
2007: St Kentigern College
2008: St Cuthbert’s College
2009: St Kentigern College
2010: St Cuthbert’s College
2011: Mt Albert Grammar School
2012: King’s College
2013: Auckland Grammar School
2014: St Kentigern College
2015: St Kentigern College
2016: Diocesan School for Girls
2017: Westlake Boys’ High School
2018: St Kentigern College
2019: Westlake Boys’ High School