2014 Championships

2014 Championships 2015-04-09T23:15:56+00:00

Christ’s College win Canterbury Regionals 2014

Canterbury Regionals were held over the 15th and 16th of March. We were hosted by Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, who provided excellent facilities. We would like to thank Nicola Allely from Rangi Ruru for her hard work in ensuring that the weekend ran smoothly.

Twenty teams attended, which was slightly fewer than last year but was still a good turnout because of the early date. It was great to see a number of teams traveling from outside of Christchurch, and also the inclusion of a new school which has not participated in recent years.

All teams performed well, and both the break and the awarding of speaker prizes was very close. Christ’s College 1, St Andrew’s College, Burnside High School 1 and Villa Maria College 1 broke to the semi-finals. Burnside 1 defeated Villa Maria 1 and Christ’s 1 defeated St. Andrew’s 1 to proceed to the final.

The final topic was “This House would allow prisoners to raise their children from behind bars.” In a 4-1 split decision, Christ’s College 1 won the debate and the Championships.

Thank you to all of the adjudicators who gave up their weekend to volunteer, and to Josh and Desley for flying down to represent NZSDC.

Winners (Christ’s College)
Vincent Curd
William Warren
William Fulton

Runners-Up (Burnside High School)
Daniel Coats
Emily Moon
Natalija Petrovic

Most Improved Team
Cashmere High School

Best Speaker
Vincent Curd (Christ’s College)

Most Promising Speaker
Isabella Walsh (Villa Maria College)

Members of the Canterbury Teams:
Vincent Curd (Christ’s College)
Daniel Maier-Gant (St Andrew’s College)
Isabella Walsh (Villa Maria College)
Daniel Coats (Burnside High School)
Hansuel Nam (Rangi Ruru Girls’ School)
Natalie Vaughn (St Margaret’s College)

Reserves to the Canterbury Teams:
Chris Cooper (St Bede’s College)
Madi Hughes (Rangi Ruru Girls’ School)

Highly Commended
Aaron Millar (Shirley Boys’ High School)
Nora Maarleveld (St Margaret’s College)
Natalija Petrovic (Burnside High School)


Winning Team


Canterbury Regional Teams

Megan Dickie (Convenor)