Previous Best Speakers

Previous Best Speakers 2018-06-10T05:13:23+00:00

Since 1998 the following trophy has been awarded each year at the Canterbury Regional Schools’ Debating Championships:

Canterbury Speaking Union Trophy
Best Speaker

1998: Ben Smith, St Bede’s College
1999: William Brereton, St Thomas of Canterbury College
2000: Dan Musgrove, Marlborough Boys’ College
2001: Jacob Mattingley, St Andrew’s College
2002: Jeremy Johnson, Christ’s College
2003: Matt McGrath, St Bede’s College
2005: Erin Jackson, St Margaret’s College
2006: Jess Murchison, St Margaret’s College
2007: Rebecca Ardagh, St Margaret’s College
2008: Simon Inder, St Bede’s College
2009: Josh Toohey, St Thomas of Canterbury College
2010: Sophie Boot, Christchurch Girls’ High School
2011: Tournament not held.
2012: Daniel Coats, Burnside High School
2013: Daniel Coats, Burnside High School
2014: Vincent Curd, Christ’s College
2015: Isabella Walsh, Villa Maria College
2016: Matthew Moore, Christ’s College
2017: William Wynn Thomas, Christ’s College