2010 Championships

2010 Championships 2011-03-27T19:32:12+00:00

Palmerston North Boys’ retain Sir Michael Hardie Boys’ Cup for 2010

The 2010 Russell McVeagh Central North Island Regional Debating Champs was held at St Peter’s College,  Palmerston North, on Sunday 16 May, with twelve teams from 7 schools participating.

The first two rounds were prepared debates, with the teams enjoying debates on the interesting and novel topic, “That we should farm endangered species”.

This was followed by two rounds of limited preparation debating. In round three the teams debated the classic topic “That we should legalise euthanasia”, and in round four they debated the highly topical motion, “That we should raise the drinking age”.

The preliminary rounds left Palmerston North Boys’ High School A as top qualifiers on four wins and no losses.  On three wins and one loss was Palmerston North Boys’ High School B, Palmerston North Girls’ High School A, and St Peters College A.  PNBHS B had slightly more win points than the other two teams, so they went through to the Final against their schoolmates.

The teams were given 30 minutes to prepare for the final, on the topic “That teachers should be paid based on their performance”.

Speaker in the Grand Final

After a lively debate, Palmerston North Boys’ High A were declared the winners by a unanimous panel of adjudicators, winning the Sir Michael Hardie Boys’ Cup.

Palmerston North Boys’ High School A with the Sir Michael Hardie Boys Cup

Palmerston North Boys’ High School B – Runners-Up

The following prizes were also awarded:

Best Speaker of the Tournament:
Aric Shakur (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)

Central North Island Team for National Finals in August:
Aric Shakur (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)
James Penn (Wanganui High School)
Elizabeth Begley (St Peter’s College)

Reserves to the Central North Island Team:
Rosie Clark (Nga Tawa Diocesan School)
Elizabeth Legg (St Peter’s College)

Highly Commended
Anna Hamer-Adams (Palmerston North Girls’ High School)
Charlotte Legge (Nga Tawa Diocesan School)
Marcus Lau (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)

Most Promising Speaker
Rosie Clark (Nga Tawa Diocesan School)

Thanks to those who came up to Palmy from Wellington: Ella Edginton, Gareth Richards, Polly Higbee, Christopher Bishop, Jonathan Orpin, Udayan Mukherjee, Paul Smith, Josh Cameron.

We wish the CNI Team all the best for the National Finals in August.

Yogesh Patel
CNI Convenor, 2010