2014 Championships

2014 Championships 2015-04-20T22:26:04+00:00

Freyberg High School win first ever CNI Regional title

On 29-30 March the 2014 Russell McVeagh Central North Island Regional Debating Championships were held at St Peter’s College, Palmerston North.

Over the course of the five preliminary rounds, students debated a range of topics: “This House would make Te Reo Māori compulsory in schools”, “This House would not allow companies to pay their executives over a maximum wage”, “This House would change the New Zealand flag”, “This House believes sporting clubs should not hire players with previous criminal convictions” and “This House would allow prisoners to raise their children behind bars”.

On Sunday afternoon the tournament was narrowed to semi-finals, with Palmerston North Girls’ High School A, Wanganui High School A, Freyberg High School and Palmerston North Boys’ High School B advancing on. After two high quality and well analysed debates on the motion “This House would remove the 5% threshold for political parties to enter parliament under MMP”, Freyberg High School and Wanganui High School A advanced onto the Grand Final.

The Grand Final was held in the St Peter’s library on the topic “This House would force social media websites to allow parents full access to their children’s accounts while they are under the age of 16”. The debate was closely fought and, at times, wildly humorous, with Freyberg High School winning the debate and the Hardie Boys’ Cup in a 2-1 split decision.

A series of awards were presented at the prize-giving.

Highly Commended:
Hohepa Stablin (St Peter’s College)
Callum Tatton (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)
Amman Merchant (Wanganui High School)
Lainey Phillips (Wanganui Girls’ College)

Most Promising Speaker:
Lainey Phillips (Wellington Girls’ College)

Reserves to the CNI Team:
Isobel Pepper (Palmerston North Girls’ High School)
Liam Barber (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)

Central North Island Team 2012:
Megan Chamberlain (Freyberg High School)
Gabrielle Penn (Wanganui High School)
Rhaz Solomon (Wanganui High School)

Best Speaker: Megan Chamberlain (Freyberg High School)

CNI Award Winners 2014







All adjudicators were impressed by the intelligence and enthusiasm with which the debaters addressed each topic and responded to feedback. Thanks to all the teachers and families who came to support their teams. Thanks also to St Peter’s College for hosting the tournament this year. A special thanks to the new sponsors of the Central North Island team, O’Fee and Associates, whose help will be invaluable in the team’s journey towards Nationals and who were kind enough to come along to watch our Grand Final.

A final thanks to the adjudicators who travelled from Wellington for the weekend – Christopher Bishop, Jenna Raeburn, Udayan Mukherjee, Jodie O’Neill Daniel Wilson, Nick Cross and Siobhan Coffey.