2015 Championships

2015 Championships 2016-03-07T10:57:07+00:00

The mighty Hawke’s Bay Regionals Schools’ Debating Championships took place over the weekend of the 14th and 15th of March. This year it was hosted by Karamu High School in Hastings. It was the largest HB tournament ever, with 20 teams entered. Debating is on the rise in Hawke’s Bay.

Students debated a range of topics at a high level, and all adjudicators were very impressed. 3 rounds were had on the Saturday, with a fourth on Sunday morning followed by semis and finals. The adjudicators, who came from Victoria University in Wellington and Auckland University, put on a show debate while the finalists prepared their debate.

Karamu High took home the Toi Te Taio Bioethics Council Trophy in a final against Hastings Girls’ High School. Congratulations to best speaker from the winning team Yahaira Williams, and to the other two members of the Hawke’s Bay team: Jazz Rorrison (Karamu High School) and Mikel O’Connell (also from Karamu High School).

Special thanks to Amy Price, Jo Morris and Jon Read for all their efforts in hosting the tournament.

Below are the prize winners:

Winners (Karamu High School)
Jasmin Rorrison
Tiffany Buckley
Yahaira Williams

Runners up (Hastings Girls’ High School)
Abigail Lassing
Rebecca Frankum
Helen Howell

Promising Speakers
Louis Daysch (Lindisfarne College)
Georgia Boyes (Karamu High School)
Toby Hunter (Karamu High School)

Highly Commended
Rebecca Frankum (Hastings Girls’ High School)
Grace Coffey (Napier Girls’ High School)
Reuben van Selm (Napier Boys’ High School)

Reserves to the Hawke’s Bay Team
Olivia Druzianic (Iona College)
Caitlyn Clark (Karamu High School)

Hawke’s Bay Team
Yahaira Williams (Karamu High School)
Jasmin Rorrison (Karamu High School)
Mikel O’Connell (Karamu High School)

Best speaker
Yahaira Williams (Karamu High School)