2011 Championships

2011 Championships 2012-06-10T15:24:59+00:00

Kerikeri High School win 2011 Northland Regional Champs

This year eight teams from six schools met at Whangarei Boys’ High School on Sunday 27 February to compete at the 2011 Russell McVeagh Northland Regional Debating Championships.  The teams began the day with a prepared topic round, debating the motion ‘This House would make voting compulsory’.  This was followed by two limited preparation rounds, where teams debated the issue of voluntary euthanasia and free broadcasting of major sports events.

While the break was close ,with Rodney College and Kerikeri High School 2 narrowly missing out, it was Kerikeri High School 1 and Whangarei Boys’ High School 1 who went through to the final.  The teams debated the motion “This House would refuse to negotiate with terrorists”, with Kerikeri High School 1 taking out the tournament again.

The tournament also involves the selection of individual speakers for the regional team, who will go on to compete at the Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools’ Debating Championships in late May.  The team consists of Michael Prendergast (Kerikeri High School), Freya Forstner (Kerikeri High School) and Jacob Brown (Rodney High School), and will be coached by Aria Newfield. Michael Prendergast was named as the Best Speaker of the tournament.

Northland Regional Team 2011

A development team, comprised of speakers from Year 12 and below who show great promise, was also selected.  In the team are Lutz Hamm (Whangarei Boys’ High School), Joey Faithful (Kamo High School), Bryce Robertson (Rodney College) and Jesse Prendergast (Kerikeri High School). Jesse Prendergast was also named as the Most Promising Speaker.

The regional convenors thank all of the students who participated in the tournament, as well as the coaches and parents who made such participation possible.  They also extend thanks to Whangarei Boys’ High School for making such an enjoyable competition possible.

Aria Newfield and Corinne Marti
Regional Convenors 2011