2012 Championships

2012 Championships 2014-03-19T12:48:03+00:00

John McGlashan College win OUDS Cup in 2012

The 2012 Russell McVeagh Otago-Southland Regional Schools Debating Championships were held on May 4/5 at Otago Boys’ High School. 25 teams from 14 schools competed. This was a strong increase on the 14 teams from 10 schools in 2011.

On the Friday afternoon, teams debated both sides of the prepared motion “This house would ban home schooling”. On Saturday morning teams debated in two limited preparation rounds, “This house would legalise marijuana” and “This house believes that beauty pageants are bad for society”.

After four rounds, John McGlashan College 1 and St Hilda’s Collegiate 2 broke first equal (equal win points) on four wins. Breaking in third equal (equal win points) from a pool of six teams on three wins were Bayfield High School 1 and Bayfield High School 2. The semi-final motion “This house would pay teachers on their performance” was won by John McGlashan 1 and St Hilda’s 2 (beating Bayfield 2 and 1 respectively). John McGlashan 1 won the final on the topic “This house would prevent prisoners from raising their babies behind bars”.

Otago University Debating Society Cup (Winners): John McGlashan College 1 (Hamish Darling, Jack Miles, Joe Ascroft)

Runner’s Up: St Hilda’s Collegiate 2 (Alicia Skeaf, Amy Wright, Isabella Shields)

Rachel Carrell Cup for Best Speaker: Joe Ascroft (John McGlashan)

Most Promising Speaker Cup: Charlie Ruffman (Logan Park)

Otago-Southland Regional Schools Debating Squad (three selected to compete at National Champs):
Kasun Kumarasinghe (Otago Boys’)
Charlie Ruffman (Logan Park)
Simon Williams (Bayfield)
Sophie Worner (James Hargest)
Hayley Botha (James Hargest)
Joe Ascroft (John McGlashan)
Amy Wright (St Hilda’s)
Larissa Hinds (Bayfield)

Otago-Southland Regional Schools Debating Team:
Joe Ascroft (John McGlashan)
Amy Wright (St Hilda’s)
Larissa Hinds (Bayfield)

Kurt Purdon
Otago / Southland Convenor 2012