2014 Championships

2014 Championships 2015-04-12T11:09:50+00:00

James Hargest win Otago/Southland Regionals

The 2014 Russell McVeagh Otago-Southland Regional Debating Championships were held on the 14th and 15th of March at the University of Otago College of Education. 18 teams from 11 different schools competed. For the first time all the preliminary rounds were limited-prep, ending the tradition of beginning the tournament by debating both sides of a prepared topic. This year also saw the addition of a fifth preliminary round.

The following motions were debated across the preliminary rounds; “This house supports government employees such as teachers, the police and doctors, having the right to strike,” “This house believes that graduates from New Zealand universities should be required to work in New Zealand for a number of years after graduating,” “This house believes that environmentalist organisations are justified in breaking the law,” “This house would, as a school student, delete its social network accounts,” and “This house believes compulsory religious education should be taught in all state schools.”

Breaking to the semi-finals were Logan Park High School 1, John McGlashan College 1, James Hargest High School 1 and Columba College 1. The semi-finalists debated the moot, “This house would require that women comprise at least 45% of the seats in Parliament.” Logan Park High School 1 successfully negated against Columba College 1, winning in a 4-1 split decision. James Hargest High School 1 successfully negated against John McGlashan College 1 in a unanimous 5-0 decision.

The Grand Final was on the topic, “This house would grant amnesty to oppressive dictators in return for them stepping down.” James Hargest High School 1 successfully affirmed against Logan Park High School 1 in a close 4-3 split decision.

Thank you very much to all the students, parents, and teachers involved, as well as the 16 adjudicators who gave up their time to make the competition a success. Special thanks goes to Rotary Dunedin for proudly sponsoring the competition for the second year in a row.

Congratulations to all the students who received prizes this year.

Otago University Debating Society Cup (Winners) – James Hargest High School 1
Hannah Brown
Claire Boniface
Matilda Phillips

Runners Up – Logan Park High School 1
Jacobi Kohu-Morris
Connor Seddon
Helen Prime

Rachel Carrell Cup for Best Speaker – Nick Robertson (John McGlashan College)

Otago-Southland Regional Team
Amy Wright (St. Hilda’s Collegiate School)
Connor Seddon (Logan Park High School)
Nick Robertson (John McGlashan College)

Otago Regional Team

Otago Regional Team 2014

Jacobi Kohu-Morris (Logan Park High School)
Yang Li (Otago Boys’ High School)

Highly Commended Speakers
Matilda Phillips (James Hargest High School)
Holly Barclay (Columba College)
Emily Williams (Columba College)

Most Promising Speaker Cup – Louis Jennings (John McGlashan College)

Development Squad
Jacobi Kohu-Morris (Logan Park High School)
Emily Williams (Columba College)
Louis Jennings (John McGlashan College)
Claire Boniface (James Hargest High School)
Joe MacKay (John McGlashan College)

Otago Development Team

Otago Development Squad 2014

James Tocher
Otago-Southland Regional Convenor 2014