Previous Winners

Previous Winners 2017-11-14T22:35:20+00:00

The Otago / Southland Schools’ Debating Championships have existed since 1988.  The winning team has always received the Otago University Debating Society Cup, which is inscribed as follows:

The Otago University Debating Society Cup
Otago / Southland Secondary Schools’ Debating Competition
Commemorating the 110th Anniversary of the Founding of OUDS 28/6/88

1988: Moreau College
1989: Kavanagh College
1990: Otago Girls’ High School
1991: Kavanagh College
1992: Kavanagh College
1993: James Hargest High School
1994: James Hargest High School
1995: James Hargest High School
1996: Columba College
1997: King’s High School
1998: Columba College
1999: Columba College
2000: John McGlashan College
2001: Dunstan High School
2002: James Hargest High School
2003: James Hargest High School
2004: St Hilda’s Collegiate School
2005: Columba College
2006: Bayfield High School
2007: James Hargest High School
2008: St Hilda’s Collegiate School
2009: Otago Boys’ High School
2010: Bayfield High School
2011: Logan Park High School
2012: John McGlashan College
2013: xx
2014: James Hargest High School
2015: Logan Park High School
2016: John McGlashan College