Hawke’s Bay Regionals Report 2021

Hawke’s Bay Regionals Report 2021

This year over the weekend of 6/7 March 2021, 18 teams from 12 schools came together at Hastings Girls’ High School came together for the Hawke’s Bay Regional Championships 2021. The tournament was extremely high quality and some great debates took place. We were also very privileged to have Tukituki MP Anna Lorck to open the ceremony on Saturday and present the prizes on Sunday; thanks to Anna and her team for their time.

Congratulations to Havelock North High School ­­­­White and ­­Karamu High School for progressing to the final. The teams went head to head on the motion “That the rise of cults of personality around iconic females is bad for the feminist movement; e.g. Taylor Swift, Nicki Minaj, Michelle Obama.”

Thank you so much to the judges from Victoria University for giving up their weekend and a huge thank you to Frankie Gross for her work convening the tournament. Finally, thanks to Mandy and Steve from Hastings Girls’ High School for being fantastic hosts over the weekend.

A further congratulations to the following speakers who received awards:

Winners: Karamu High School

Keelan Heesterman

Amie Hazelwood

Ethin Templeton

Runners Up: Havelock North High School White

Lily Graham

Katie Hodson

Cindy Wang

Hawke’s Bay Regional Debating Team

Keelan Heesterman (Karamu High School)

Emilie Horsfall (Havelock North High School)

Edward Brougham (Lindisfarne College)

Best Speaker: Keelan Heesterman (Karamu High School)

Most Promising Speaker: Kaiya Read-Butcher (Havelock North High School)

Highly Commended:

Louis Gaffaney (St John’s College)

Elyas McGuire (Gisborne Boys’ High School)

Isobel Ham (Woodford House)

Charlie Mudgeway (Taradale High School)